The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local business that used to advertise during late night news program has just cancelled their advertising contacts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid restore any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

The argument is concerned about the television station's manager decision to concludes to increase the time devoted to weather and local news to previous amount. The conclusion was made in order to lure more viewers to the program and to increase the advertisement contracts to the television station. For this decision the manager has stated that they have been getting more complaints from the viewers concerned about the weather and local news coverage. he have also argued that the advertisement contracts are being cancelled due to their decision to decrease the time devoted to local and weather news. The argument is based on baseless reasons and seems specious. The argument fails to specify clearly about the reasons due to which the contracts for advertisements are being cancelled and the reasons behind the complaints of the viewers. Therefore additional evidence is required to validate the argument.

Firstly, The argument states that they are receiving complaints from the viewers about the coverage of the weather and local news. the reasons behind this may be other than time devoted to them. The reasons may be concerned about the anchor who reads the news, or maybe the telecasting timing and method. So a proper survey is to be carried out before taking any decision by the manager.

Secondly, the manager argues that the local business have cancelled their advertisement contracts because of the station devoting less time on weather and local news. But the case may be other than it. They might have got offers from other channels who are willing to do the advertisements in lower price schemes. So the local businessmen should be contacted and their view and reasons relating the cancellation should be known before the station decides to increase the time devoted to weather and local news.

Therefore the given argument about the decision of manager to increase the time devoted to the weather and local news is misleading. Although the argument points out an possibility, further additional evidence is required to validate the decision to be taken. For this survey in the area where the television station broadcasts its content is to be cone and the local business are to met to know the reasons that led the cancellation of the contracts.