The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Business manager of a television station in the memorandum to his employees, concludes that the need to restore the time they had devoted to weather and local news to its former level in order to gain the viewers back and avoid losing any further revenues. He has been able to conclude this based on few evidences like cancellation of advertising contracts with local businesses and complaints from viewers with station's coverage of weather and local news. Business manager's argument seems to be based on inappropriate assumptions. He should diligent with his research and evidences before he concludes a plan of action. He has to have answers to two of the possible scenarios:

First of all, Business manager needs to look at the trend numbers of last year and the year before to understand the kind of complaints and the number of complaints received from the viewers. He has to clearly quantify of what does he mean by "most complaints". He should be able to clearly drill down to the numbers and reasons for such complaints. The evidence provided by him seems vague as it is possible that the complaints could have been a few may be 2% of the total or could have been saying that the coverage around weather and local news isn't appropriate at this late hour. It should be rather totally removed from this slot and shifted to a slot prior to this. So there are lot of lose ends which need to tied together after a comprehensive data analysis. If the stated analysis suggests otherwise, then Business managers argument would be weakened.

Secondly, manager should be able to furnish more information around the king of contracts that are being cancelled. Are they the ones which were near the renewal period? or are they the ones which were anyway on the decline since past few years? This will help him identify the exact reason of contract cancellations from the Local businesses. For instance, the reason could be that the particular Local business is not profitable and wants to cut down on his advertising cost. After evaluating the exact reasons, will the manager be able take the correct remedial measure. He might ultimately may not be required to change the time slot duration for weather and local news.

The argument given by Business manager is not based on solid grounds. His correct approach and reasoning can in-turn prove him more harm rather than any good. He thus needs to assess the common trends, identify the gaps and furnish his findings with lot of effective evidence to be drive it in the right direction and help save revenue.