The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The author of the argument has failed to convince us that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. The argument, as it stands, is based on questionable assumptions and a faulty line of reasoning, a fact which renders it over-simplistic and unconvincing.

First, the author falsely assumes that the decreased time of local and weather news were the main cause of people's complaints. To elaborate on, the author failed to provide more detail about the reason of the complaints and nebulously assumes that it is due to the decreased time. Consequently, other factors could play a role. What if the complaints were about the overall quality of the weather and local news section? What if a new novice reporter has been replaced with an old seasoned one? Not to mention the fact that the viewers could have been complaining about the raised price of the television station cable. What if the mentioned dilemma is just a coincidence? So many other factors, not taken into account, could have a voice in such an issue. As a result, enumerated evidence would dispel any ambiguity and would strengthen the argument.

Next, the author flimsily assumes that in order to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the station should restore the time to its former level. Again, not providing enough evidence to support his assertion, the author fails to convince the reader. The stated term, regarding advertising contracts, is nebulous and needs scrutiny. So many other factors could have been involved. Maybe the television station did not live up to their partners’ expectation. What if the advertising companies wanted to pay less money for the lower time devoted to local and weather news section, but the television station refused? What if, as said before, the quality of sound and picture, presented to the viewers, had become lower over the past year? As can be seen, so many other issues could have been taken into consideration. If the author has enumerated the evidence above, the argument would have been strengthened.

To conclude, based on substantial assumptions and poor evidence, the arguer's reasoning does not provide concrete support for his/her conclusion. If the argument included the items discussed, it would have been more thorough and convincing.