The following is a memorandum from the office of Mayor Harrison Smith Jones.

"In order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones plans to build a multi-million dollar subway system. The subway will run through the major downtown areas, a part of the town where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. For years, residents have been complaining both about inconsistent buses, and the general lack of safety while riding the buses. Additionally, the subway will be running twenty-four hours a day. Since motorists will spend less time in traffic, Mayor Harrison Smith Jones expects to see an immediate increase in worker productivity, which will improve the economy of Briggsville."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Traffic jams and inconsistent public transportation service are two major issues that residents of large cities have to suffer. Briggsville is not an exception, and Mayor Harrison Smith Jones proposes a plan to build a multi-million dollar subway system in order to deal with the heavy traffic. He argues that the subway which connects major downtown areas and operates twenty-four hours a day will become a credible alternative to the bus service – the one which citizens criticize for inconsistency and unsafety. The mayor claims that the convenient and time-saving subway service will boost productivity of employees making the whole economy of the city more prospering and lucrative. However, this argument hinges on an array of assumptions. Thus, while evaluating this argument it is crucial to understand what these assumptions are.

The quality of bus service is the main rationale behind the subway construction initiative. As the justification of his decision the mayor uses information on inconsistency of buses which draws outrage of residents. This assumption means that a lot of residents will prefer new subway service to buses, yet it takes into consideration bus users only. On the one hand, if this assumption holds true the decreasing demand in the bus service caused by the increase in subway users might be the reason to cut on the number of buses that operate in areas with heavy traffic. Nevertheless, the mayor ignores to what extent users of personal cars or the taxi service might also be interested in the subway. If they prefer these means of transportation because of unsatisfactory bus service only, they might be interested in a cheaper public service. Otherwise, if they care more, for instance, about comfort and have a lot of apprehensions about public transportation, they might not be interested in the subway at all.

The argument also claims that the subway will run through major downtown areas where buses serve as the only form of public transportation. In other words, the assumption is that the enhancement of public transportation service in the downtown area only is enough to resolve the issue of traffic congestion of the whole city. It seems that it might help to decrease the number of cars in the city center during the day, since residents will be able to move around using the subway service which is planned to be widely available in the downtown. Though this assumption does not take into consideration distant areas from where people regularly set off. If the public transportation in these areas is substandard, and the only option people have to commute by is personal cars or the taxi service, the subway in downtown will not help them to get to work.

Finally, the mayor concludes that one of the major outcomes of the subway construction is the increase in productivity of Briggsville's economy, yet it might hold true if one assumption proves warranted. The argument is that residents will be satisfied with the subway service when it will start to operate. The mayor takes into consideration the inconsistency of public transportation and its unsafety as the major factors of dissatisfaction and might assume that twenty-four hours service will deal with it. However, if the vast majority of citizens begin to use the subway service at the particular time of the day – e.g. in early morning on working days - it might end up with crowds of people on stations, lines to take the train and overloaded carriages.

After all there is strong assumption that the employees’ productivity hinges upon the time they spend to get to work. On the one hand, it sounds cogent, as people do not have to wake up early or spend a lot of time in traffic jams. At the same time, this assumption does not consider working conditions that might be more overwhelming and then hinder an outstanding job performance.

Summing up, the plan to construct the subway proposed by Mayor Harrison Smith Jones in order to relieve Briggsville’s notorious traffic congestion might change the status quo. However, there are a couple of strong assumptions that need to be clarified in advance. Despite the fact that many residents who dissatisfied with bus service there are driver and users of the taxi service who might have different qualms about the public transportation service. It is also significant to take into consideration that few people have to commute and come to the downtown from distant areas, so the construction project should also consider these inflows to the city center. Finally, the assumption that satisfaction with traffic correlates with the productivity of the whole city might be a slight exaggeration, yet there is a grind of truth.