The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove

The study of space has become one of the most interesting topics of the modern era. It is filled with a myriad number of secrets which are yet to be disclosed. In a search for the solution of innumerable unanswered questions, it is very important that studies are conducted. For this purpose, space vehicles have to be sent in space for research purposes. Now the question arises whether these vehicles should be manned or unmanned. It would be of great advantage that if these vehicles were accompanied by man, to capture information which machines can’t. The author mentions that sending unmanned vehicles are good, but he bases his conclusion on various assumptions.

Firstly, the author assumes that the flights are dangerous based on a few experiences. However, he has no significant data to support his argument. Manned flights have been successful a lot many times. Instead of basing his decision on a few failures, the failures which caused the journey, should be examined and must be improved.

Secondly, the author mentions about the cost of manned flight. For an unmanned flight, the technology required costs a great amount as compared to manned flight. Developing artificial intelligence is more costly than sending trained people on flight.

Also, the author states that the results of unmanned flights is better. However he has no idea about what information would manned flight give the department. It is very important to realize that technology is fixed and has its own limitation. However, a human has live intelligence and can improvise at every step. Hence, manned flight is more efficient in terms of information and also about the authenticity of the information received.

Hence, the author should not make short term conclusions based on a very little information. He must take all factors into consideration before making a decision.