The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The opinion recommends that resource should be invested in unmanned space flight rather than manned one because manned space flight are costly/ dangerous and there have been recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites. However, this argument rests on three assumptions that needs to be critically examined.

First, the author of this opinion assumes that manned space flight are costlier and riskier than unmanned space flight. While it might be true that manned space flight are costly and risky, there is no evidence to suggest that they are more costly and risky than unmanned ones. For example, driverless cars have been touted as the future of automobiles in the last decades because they would be more cost effective and less risky as they could help ease traffic situations and would be removing the inherent risks associated with humans when driving. However, recent studies have shown that this may not be true. For example, a driverless car is much more likely to collide with pedestrains crossing the road than a human because it does not have the emotional intelligence to deal with "out-of -the-box" scenerios. If these scenerios also apply to unmanned space probes, it could turn out that they are more risky and costly than manned ones making the author's opinion less valid.

Second, the author of this opinion uses the recent success of a series of unmanned space vehicles to show how successful they are. However, the author is clearly assuming that this sample space is representative of the entire population space flights. It might be that these unmanneed vehicles achieved this level of success because they were sent on easier tasks than a normal manned space vehicle will be. It might also be that extra attention was taken to guide this unmanned space vehicles than they will be usually given. For instance, driverless cars were found to be far more successful in small, well mapped areas than cars with drivers because it was easier to navigate those scenerios and there is little or no room for surprises. Clearly, a small, well mapped area is a far easier task than the real world where the driverless cars will be deployed thus these tests are not a representative sample of the actual scenerios. This might also hold true for the unmanned space vehicles. If it turns out the sample space in terms of space flight of the unmanned vehicles is not representative of the population of all space flights, then the author's opinion does not hold much water.

Third, the author is using vague words in the form of "a great deal of useful information" to describe the success of the unmanned space flights. What does the author mean by a great deal of useful information? The author is clearly assuming that the information provided by this unmanned space flights is clearly good enough to ensure we can discard manned space flights. However, there is no evidence to suggest this is true. It may be that the volume and quality of the information obtained from the unmanned vehicle in far less than that which would have been obtained from a manned space flight instead. The author has to be clear on his/her definition of great and useful especially in relation to the manned space flight. Before we can draw any meaningful conclusion from the usefulness of the information provided by the unmanned space flights, they have to be compared and constrasted with the information provided by a manned space flight on the same mission. Without this comparison and contrast, no meaningful conclusion can be drawn and the author's argument cannot be ascertained to be valid.

In conclusion, the author's argument as it currently stands is flawed as it rests on a number of currenty unfounded assumptions. More evidence needs to gathered, in form of a proper scientific study before the author's argument can be properly evaluated.