Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions over the years have been saddled with the task of preparing its students for the future and their roles in the society. Thus, it is natural that some people may argue that they also have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are less likely to succeed. However, I do not agree with this claim for a three cogent reasons.

First, how do we measure the success in a field of study? Unlike parameters like height or weight, the definition of success is highly subjective. For some, success in a field is measured by how much money you earn from the field. For some others, it is how much liberty the field lets you have. Yet, for some other it depends on how many lives they can positively impact. Given this very varied perceptions of the term success, it is hard for educational institutions to make adequate judgement on which field of study particular students will succeed in and will end of misleading them.

Second, the changing nature of the society and the job markets needs to be considered. For example, in the 1950s and 1960s, nuclear engineering seemed to be a field that holds so much promise for success as there were loads of opportunities to find a niche for yourself. Thus, any 'logical' educational institution would have been clearly biased towards such a field due to its natural appeal. However, things began to change in the 1980s due to the increase in concern about safety of nuclear materials and the field quickly fell out of favour. In this type of situation, the educational institutions would have incorrectly dissuaded its students from other fields and thus leave many of them frustrated over their change of fortunes affecting the society at large.

Third, educational institutions who are tasked with the responsibility of ensuring the growth of knowledge in various fields. They are supposed to be nation's custodian of growth and innovation. This task will be adversely affected if these institutions try to take on the responsibility of dissuading students from fields of study that are unlikely to bring success. Educational institutions will then be forced to focus on a narrow spectrum of knowledge and fields of study which means that some field of studies which may have brought great positive changes to the nation would be affected negatively because those fields did not promise much at the moment. Significant discoveries in these fields will almost never be made and the world will be a poorer place to be for it.

In conclusion, some may argued that educational institutions are made up of experts that have been trained to make good logical decisions with adequate foresight and thus are well placed for this responsility. However, this is not true. As shown by psychologist, experts opinion, no matter how trained they are, are very subjective especially if they have to make prediction about the future. They are prone hasty generalization, black swan fallacy among other things. Thus, I strongly believe that educational institutions should not be tasked with this responsibility as it will cause more harm than good to the society and the world at large.