The following opinion was provided in a letter to the editor of a national aeronautics magazine:

“Manned space flight is costly and dangerous. Moreover, the recent success of a series of unmanned space probes and satellites has demonstrated that a great deal of useful information can be gathered without the costs and risks associated with sending men and women into space. Therefore, we should invest our resources in unmanned space flight.""

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The memorandum stated by editor of national aeronautics magazine emphasizes that use of unmanned space flight is safer than manned space flight which he considers the latter has more disadvantages, perils and is not on the economic side when compared to the former lacks sound reasoning, compelling statements to verify the veracity and logical correctness of the statement passed on.

How can one claim that manned space flight is costly there are no numeric values of budget reports to weaken the claim that "Manned space flight is costlier than unmanned vehicles". secondly when considering the paradigm of dangers associated with manned and unmanned vehicles. there are a commensurate number of failures and success in launching both manned and unmanned vehicle into space.

Insat-1B a satellite designed to elicit surreptitious findings of the presence of life on plane mars is a failure. due to the unmanned rover carrying a heavy satellite on its back powered with an ion booster engine has lost its connectivity with the Indian space research centers headquartered in Srihari Kota due to the extreme weather conditions on the periphery of the plane mars which turned out to be a failure and the budget of 5000 cr went in vain. similarly the unmanned submarine-launched in the Indian ocean by the paramilitary forces last year was also a great catastrophe which had charred and put 40 crew members to ashes.

In contrast, the spacecraft " Challenger" a manual maneuvering spacecraft which had carried Kalpana Chawla and many more renowned space scientists onboard has successfully left them in the orbital radii of Jupiter planet whose main aim was to carry out living conditions on the planet so as to built international space station has turned out to be an unfruitful catastrophe. During the return journey from Jupiter's orbit to earth's atmosphere due to mismatch of fuel burnt and atmospheric pressure, the inner engine of challenger burned out to ashes leaving their work useless and had taken away scientist's life. A minute error has made a huge difference

Both manned and unmanned space flights each of which have their own individual risk of operating at extremely low gravitational fields. and not only atmospheric conditions which do damage the space crafts but also technical failure and vague inspections of the engine, reusability of the same engine for

longer periods might also be the reason for which both manned and unmanned space vehicles launch to orbit is a fiasco.