The following is part of a memorandum from the president of Humana University.

"Last year the number of students who enrolled in online degree programs offered by nearby Omni University increased by 50 percent. During the same year, Omni showed a significant decrease from prior years in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space, most likely because instruction in the online programs takes place via the Internet. In contrast, over the past three years, enrollment at Humana University has failed to grow, and the cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with our budget deficit. To address these problems, Humana University will begin immediately to create and actively promote online degree programs like those at Omni. We predict that instituting these online degree programs will help Humana both increase its total enrollment and solve its budget problems."

A memorandum from the president of Humana University predict that to increase enrolment as well as budget problem they should institutes online degree programs. However, there are many flaws in a memorandum and author fails to answer some questions which is necessary to conclude that whether prediction is acceptable or not.

Omni University has offered online degree programs last year and there was a 50% increase in enrolment. During same year, Omni showed significant decrease in expenditures for dormitory and classroom space. These may raise some questions. How Omni University’s increase in online degree programs enrolment will surely increase in Humana University. If increase in online programs helps Omni University that does not mean that these will help Humana as well. So, Author should provide accurate details on how these two universities are similar that one's improvement will surely improve other.

In contrast, over the past three years, enrolment at Humana University has failed to grow and cost of maintaining buildings has increased along with budget deficit. At a time of enrolment, students also see buildings, grounds and other extra-curricular activities. If buildings are poor then on students will enrol in those universities. No one wants to study in poor buildings when other university provides better facilities. If buildings and facilities are not good then there may be poor faculties as well. Author fails to answer about how it will increase online programs when there infrastructure is poor. Thus, author should provide details on how this argument will increase online programs.

Humana University will begin to create and actively promote online degree programs. However, if they use marketing money in maintaining their buildings and provide facilities then there may be more students will enrol. Author should answer on how these promotions will help to increase online degree enrolment. Author should also answer about condition of Omni's buildings and their facilities. So, author should provide details on how promotions will help to increase online degree programs.

To sum up, author should provide strong evidence to support his argument. There are many flaws in a memorandum. Author fails to answer how Omni and Humana are similar and how promotions will increase enrolment of Humana University.