The following recommendation appeared in a memo from the mayor of the town of Hopewell.

"Two years ago, the nearby town of Ocean View built a new municipal golf course and resort hotel. During the past two years, tourism in Ocean View has increased, new businesses have opened there, and Ocean View's tax revenues have risen by 30 percent. Therefore, the best way to improve Hopewell's economy—and generate additional tax revenues—is to build a golf course and resort hotel similar to those in Ocean View."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The mayor of Hopewell points out that building a golf course and resort hotel is the best way to escalate Hopewell’s economy and generate extra tax revenues. To buttress his recommendation, he cites the experience of the nearby town where a new golf course and resort hotel was built. The argument seems to be plausible at first glance, but it reveals several logical flaws, as they are based on some precarious assumptions.

To begin with, the mayor made an assumption that the increasing tourism in Ocean View in the past two years was solely attributed to the newly built golf course and resort hotel. However, it is entirely possible that the town has imposed other government policies to spur tourism, such as renovating(reconstruct) public attractions, improving sanitary conditions of restaurants and streets, etc. Without detailed investigation regarding the government policies enacted in the past two years, the assumption that the new golf course and resort hotel in Ocean View have boosted the development of tourism can not be justified.

Secondly, the mayor tries to correlate the construction of a golf course and resort hotel with a raise in tax revenues, which have experienced a 30 percent increase in the past two years. However, 30 percent might seem to be a large increase, but it is entirely possible that the original tax revenues are very low and a 30 percent increase does not make any difference to the overall figure. Thus, unless the mayor presents detailed information regarding the tax revenues two years ago, his attempt to relate tax revenues’ increase with the new golf course and hotel is unreasonable.

Finally, the mayor also premises the situations of the two towns are similar in all respects and the policy which was implemented in Ocean View can succeed in Hopewell as well. However, as the construction of a golf course and resort hotel requires plenty of funds, Hopewell may not have sufficient financial budget to build such facilities, and thereby the assumption that Hopewell can translate the success in Ocean View is unwarranted.

In sum, the assumptions made by the mayor certainly undermine the credibility of the recommendation, which is to build a golf course and hotel, to boost the economy in Hopewell. To bolster his recommendation, more detailed investigations and information, such as government policies imposed in Ocean View in the past two years, tax revenues conditions, etc, should be provided.