The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president recommends that Sartorian should renew(resume) the production of the alpaca overcoat, as they recently find a new fabric supplier. Also, he predicts that the coat will be very popular due to the high demand, thereby increasing the company’s profits considerably. The claim seems to be eloquent at first glance, but it reveals some logical flaws, which are based on some precarious assumptions.

To begin with, the vice president suggests that the company should resume the manufacturing of the overcoat due to their newly signed fabric supplier. As mentioned in the argument, the firm once stopped producing the overcoat because of the insufficient supply of high quality wool fabric. As there’s no detailed information about the new fabric supplier, which is essential to evaluate its ability to supply sufficient high standard fabric, the recommendation made by the vice president is unwarranted.

In addition, the vice president cites there will be a huge demand for alpaca overcoat, because they haven’t offered the overcoat for years and their main opponent no longer produces such overcoats. Such an assumption can only be justified by evidence which can prove that the market conditions remain unchanged during the last five years. Otherwise, it is entirely possible that the alpaca overcoat is outdated, which urged the company to end up producing the overcoat. Therefore, without detailed investigation in the market conditions, I will not be convinced by the argument presented by the presidents.

Finally, the vice president presumes that customers are willing to pay higher price for alpaca overcoats, as other types of clothes’ prices have experienced a significant increase in past five years. However, the vice president probably premises the design and materials of these clothes are all the same, but it is entirely possible that the higher price of other types of clothes is due to their sophisticated design and better crude materials. Thus, if there’s no plausible evidence indicating the alpaca overcoat has a good quality same as other clothing, it is imprudent to draw the conclusion that the sales of the overcoat will contribute to the increase of the company’s profits.

In sum, the suggestion presented by the vice president is based on several unjustified assumptions. To bolster his suggestion, more detailed investigations, such as status of the new fabric supplier, market conditions in the past five years and comparisons between the overcoat and other clothes are required to make the recommendation more persuasive.