TPO -3 Independent Writing :

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People will meet different people and make different friends in different stages of life. Some people thinks that keeping old friends is more important than making new friends, while some other people disagrees with that. It is hard to decide which perspective is correct as different people holds different opinions according to their own experiences. However, according to my own experience, I agree that it is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends.

First of all, old friends always understand you better than new friends do as they have known you long enough. It is always good for people to make some new friends, but sometimes it just takes time for new friends to understand you well. When it comes to mutual understanding, old friends are always doing better than new friends. Like myself, I have some old friends from university but also make some new friends at work, but when I encounter difficulties in my life, I will always prefer to talk to those old friends from university even though they are thousands of miles away from me. In front of my old friends, I don't have to spend time explaining why I have done something because they understand me so well that they have already known the answers.

Moreover, the memory that we share with old friends cannot be replaced by the memory with the new friends easily, as that memory is unique to the specific stage of ourselves. For example, I have three best friends whom I have share a lot of good time with in high school. Even though we are now living in different cities and only meet each other once a year, they are still very important to me that no one else can replace their positions in my heart. The beautiful memory that I had with them in high school is the last thing that I will forget in my life.

All in all, keeping old friends is more important than making new friends to me.