Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

There’s an assertion that all college faculty should spend time and effort working on the courses they teach. I do agree with the view, as working outside the academic world not only enables faculty to teach their students more effectively, but also improves their academic work indirectly.

Admittedly, when facing a lot of burden on research, college professors may not have sufficient time to learn relevant skills to the courses they teach. As we all know, the evaluation system for college faculty is totally different from teachers in primary or secondary school. The most important thing for college teachers is to public more papers and make a real contribution to the advancement of science. If college authorities force all faculty to receive extra training like teaching skills, their main focus, the academic work, may be severely affected.

However, although college professors focus more on the academic world, they should also take some responsibility for teaching their students. Almost every college professor will at least have one or two courses to teach. If they don’t receive related training, which is important for them to be qualified, their classes may be boring, and thereby students are not able to acquire useful knowledge to make them more competitive in the job market and their future career. Also, it will result a bad reputation for the college as a place where its professors are irresponsible for their students. Therefore, the importance of attending teaching training and being a qualified teacher should be emphasised for all faculty.

Moreover, the time professors spend outside the academic world can be regarded as an opportunity to relax themselves from the tough academic research. As we all know, many research works are related to some fundamental theoretical fields, which require a lot of time and efforts to figure out. However, people’s working efficiency will face a downward slope if they focus on one thing for too long. It means that people need to have a rest or do other things to avoid meaningless work on one field. Thus, working outside the academic world from time to time is definitely a great chance chance for the faculty to escape from tough academic world. It may have an unexpected benefit for their research after they revitalise their mind.

Summing up, although participating training relevant to the courses they teach may occupy professors' spare time, it is necessary to do this, as teaching is one of their obligations and it can also help them to avert the low efficiency trap for working too long in academic research at a time.