Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

The prompt focuses on requiring faculty members to obtain practical experience for the course they teach without truly giving us a reason why it suggest so. Despite this omission, I strongly agree with the prompt for the impact it has on the development of faculty skills and the ability to foster more synergy between academics and industry, something that has shaped the revolution of the world. However, I concede that doing so may have some negative consequences. One, if not the most deleterious would be the loss of classroom time that could create a knowledge chasm between students; Those that enjoyed more touchpoints with their faculty and those that do not, breeding disparity in academic knowledge bases and hamper innovation.

To start with the enhancement of faculty skills, the industry has shown remarkable ability to deliver innovation on its own. From the creation of what has been dubbed the R&D department. A term used for research and development. Organizations are beginning to focus on inhouse creativity and groundbreaking innovations. This was unthinkable centuries ago, when the likes of Sir Isaac Newton, Michael Faraday and James Watts discovered a lot of new inventions that drove revolutions. The later for example, Watt, found the steam engine - A propeller of the fourth industrial revolution, which changed lives and is credited with so many technological advancement we enjoyed today. Bringing back this synergy requires a conscious effort and one of the best ways is to allow academic access companies in their area of interest. Another advantage of this approach will be the funding benefit for research that could be crucial in spurring research within the academic faculty. An important cog of colleges and universities mandate that has suffered drastically from dearth of funding as companies began to feel detached from academics.

From a perspective of playing the devil's advocate, one could argue that requiring our university teachers to obtain non-academic experience will lead to some negative impact on students. For a fact, different faculty have different strengths and we may see the impact of their absence on the student. Imagine, a highly skilled professor at inspiring his student think critically and innovatively leaving the classroom for a while, we might lose out on developing more individuals who can challenge the status-quo or have certain skills that can contribute to societal advancement. We can however curb this impact by insisting the experience should be done simultaneously rather than in isolation to one another. Another way to curb this will be to embed the industrial training requirement to the classroom in such a way that both the teacher and student undergo the process together. This will build a stronger linkage to both parties and also to the industry by utilizing theories learnt in the classroom to tackle practical problems and learning what new innovations and approach are being adopted by companies.

Overall, it is very vital to allow faculty experience practical knowledge of their field beyond the classroom, albeit with enough planning for the negative effects including allowing students to come along and supporting them during their time away to keep in touch with developments in the academic world during this period.