Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing your policy and explain how these consequences shape your position

Should all faculty be required to spend time working in fields related to what they teach? Some would argue that educational institutions should not need all faculty to spend time working in professions relevant to the courses they teach. But others would state that all faculty should be required to spend quality time working in occupations relevant to the courses they teach. In my view, I strongly agree that all faculty need to spend time working in professions that are relevant to the courses they teach in colleges and universities.

Those who advocate that all faculty should not spend more time working may support this idea so that the lecturers could have more time for school, which is time demanding and intellectually tasking. They believe that with this, lecturers would have more time for teaching, researching, and mentoring their students.

However, the main aim of education is to become knowledgeable about proffering solutions to the world's needs and challenges. This drives me to this question. How do you provide answers to specific challenges such as carbon capture and sequestration when you do not have any form of experience in your profession? It is when you have a professional experience with carbon emission capture that you can comfortably teach about it to even students who initially found the topic intricate to understand. Those who teach based on what they have only read in books find it hard to explain the practical approach to the courses they teach. However, those who have an industrial or professional experience in courses they teach find it easy to explain concepts and complex topics in courses. This is because they have hands-on experience, so it becomes less complicated when trying to pass on the knowledge to someone else. Also, with this experience, they are fully able to know the current trend in the industry and able to propose better research projects that would solve real life problems in the industry. Whatever you practice is hard to forget and easy to explain.

Finally, you can use what you have experienced to guide people. Faculties with professional experience will be able to guide students on what they should expect in the industry while teaching their courses. This information will help students to make informed and proper decisions about their career goals. This is because what is barely written on papers and books is not exactly what happens in the real world. Hence, professionally experienced faculties will help to bring out their students to the reality of life. Also, while teaching courses, they could serve as mentors to students who feel confused about the next step to take after graduation

In conclusion, it is clear that all faculty should be required by colleges and universities to spend quality time in professions relevant to the courses they teach their students. The issue of being able to teach well, doing better research, and being a better mentor are great examples of why faculties should have relevant professional experiences, as this enriches both the schools and students.