People who are the most deeply committed to an idea or policy are also the most critical of it.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The statement claims that people can commit to an idea or policy deeply as well as hold a critical view about it. I only partly agree with such a statement generally, as such a situation can only apply to some ingenious people, such as scientists and artists.

As we all know, ordinary people only accept the ideas or policies which meet their expectation, but rarely posing challenges to them. One of the reasons is most people tend to be superficial in modern society. With the fast growing of internet industry, people nowadays have easier access to ideas and information. Many KOL(key opinion leaders) will offer their analysis regarding the heat events, and thereby attracting the attention of the public who agree with their ideas. However, this type of communication between KOL and their fans is one-way business and the public might become too indolent to be critical of KOLs’ ideas. Thus, ordinary people’s commitment to ideas or policies doesn’t mean they will have the willingness to criticise the ideas or policies.

However, there’re still some people in our society who are keen to question ideas and policies, especially scientists and artists. For example, Galileo had substantiated the theory which indicated the sun was the centre of the universe. Such a theory was refused by his counterparts and people in that era, even though it laid a solid foundation to the development of modern astronomy. The education Galileo received must teach him to believe the geocentric theory, but after his deep investigation and calculation to this issue, he questioned that idea and proved the heliocentric theory. As to reasons why scientists or artists can both accept an idea and also challenge it, I contend that they have the intrinsic desire to pursue the truth no matter how eloquent an idea might seem to be. Thanks to the existence of scientists, people still can be objective to the ideas or policies even if they have previously agree with such things.

In sum, while most people only accept an opinion without the willingness and ability to question it, a small proportion of people such as scientists and artists do advance the prosperity of our society by not merely receiving ideas, but challenging them and pursuing the truth.