The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

the auther of the argument has recommended the opening of a cafe in monarch book store in order to attract more customers.The author states that the space in the store can be made by discontinuing the children's book section.The author has claimed his idea on the basis of the recent national census which indicated that there is a significant decline in the percentage of population under age ten. the author also tried to state the example of regal books, which recently opened its own cafe and wants to stand in competetion with the regal books.

No doubt opening a cafe with the book store would be more beneficial for the customers at the store, but the assumptions the author has stated in order to make the argument convincing are flawfull. the author has drawn this decision from the previous census report which states that the population under age ten has declined, first of all the census report is prepared after conducting a study of population over the whole country and from this it cannot be predicted that the population of children under the age ten are less in the area surrounding monarch store. It might be that the population of the children under the age ten is high in this area and discontinuing the section of books for these children turns out in a loss.Secondly the author should have manipulated which section of age books are being sold at the maximum. It might be that the books for the children are being sold mostly.

anyway in case the author has drawn this conclusion taking into account the decline in population under the age ten ,the author cannot predict the trend which population is going to follow in the future, it might be that the population under the age ten increases while the population above the age ten remains the same or declines. from which we an estimation could be drawn that will the idea to close the books section for the under ten children turn out to be fruitful in the coming years?

the author also states that by opening a cafe they would attract more customers and better compete with the regal books, which recently opened a cafe, but here how can one plainly draw a conclusion that with the opening of cafe the costumers in regal book store has increased, it might be that the quality of the books at the regal store is better than before and opening a cafe might not be the only reason for the increase in number of customers.

So the author must further review his decision of closing the children's book section and is opening a cafe instead of that, to attract more customers.