The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In order to increase the customer base at Monach Bookstore, the author suggests on the basis of the national census and a competitor's actions to discontinue the children's book section and open a cafe instead. The author's argument is flawed because it rests on unsupported assumptions. The facts presented by the author are not sufficient enough to lead convincingly to the given idea, leaving the argument vulnerable to criticism.

The author has suggested his ideas on the basis of the national census which indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. However, the range of ages covered by the children bookstore is not known and could include children who are a little above the age of ten (11-12). Moreover, even if the population has reduced, the average number of books read by each child could be large and hence the children's book section could be responsible for a large portion of the bookstore's profits. Had the author mentioned an evidence suggesting the decline in the purchase of children's books rather than the census, the argument would have been stronger.

Secondly, the author assumes an analogy between two competitors in a business and uses the cafe opened at Regal Book as a precedent to support his claim. However, the author fails to provide any stats indicating the success of the idea. Even if the idea did work out for Regal books, the reason would be unknown. The barista at the cafe could be really good and hence the customers are attracted to the coffee rather than the books. Hence, to make a decision on the basis of the above-mentioned argument could prove to be fatal. Had the author mentioned some stats depicting an increase in sales of books at Regal Books after the introduction of a cafe and provided reasons for that increase, the argument would have been stronger.

Since the given argument suffers from planning and analogy biases, it is a weak argument. By incorporating the suggestions mentioned above the author could have bolstered his argument.