The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation from the manager monarch books to replace the children's books section with a cafe in facing the competition of book and Bean is speciously sound. The manager argues that the decline of children in population and profitable revenues from a cafe can perpetuate its prosperity. However, neither of the arguments lend credible support for a replacement.

The writer bases the claim that selling children's books are going to be insufficiently rewarded since the significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten in the national census. However, national data may not reflect the parochial demographic situation, as children's percentage can increase in one area and decrease in another area. To say the children in Collegeville can be uproaring may border on hyperbole, but to say the children is not dwindling can be of high possibility. Furthermore, granted the dwinddling of children's percentage in Collegville, the number of children can be argumenting in vitrue of mushrooming in total population.

In addition, even if the number of children is decreasing, owing to the agitated appetite for books, the selling could also be auspicious. In a rapidly changing world, parents should feel more pressure in children's education. Plus the accumulation of family wealth, parents are able to and willing to purchase book beneficial to children's growth. Compared to other forms of entertainment, most parents will be inclined to let their children read books instead of surfing on the Internet where good and bad are mixed together. Hence, the potential market may be not waning. A hasty abrogation may forestall future revenues.

Furthermore, as a long-standing bookstore, it is unwise to supplant the old fashion with the idea copied from others. The homogeneity of marketing strategies is an abnegation of distinction. The efficiency of the combination of the cafe and the bookstore is unproven in Collegeville. Customers may have a proclivity in a traditional book store. Besides, a lack of experience in operating the store mixed by a bookstore and a cafe means to jump into the rival's comfort zone and be most likely penalized in the competition.

In conclusion, the manager's arguments can hardly prove a rearrangement of the monarch books is necessary under competition. Before drawing a conclusion, the manager should implement more thorough research into the book market in Collegeville, including the prospect of children's books' selling and the preferred form of a bookstore of Collegeville's residents. A deeper investigation precludes a cursory conclusion.