The following is a recommendation from the Board of Directors of Monarch Books.

"We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening the café would attract more customers. Space could be made for the café by discontinuing the children's book section, which will probably become less popular given that the most recent national census indicated a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten. Opening a café will allow Monarch to attract more customers and better compete with Regal Books, which recently opened its own café."

The recommendation states that the Monarch Books should close the section for children books and open a café instead to better compete with Regal Books. Plausible as it may sound, there are a few questions remain unaddressed.

To begin with, the board indicated that children's book will become less popular since most national census showed a decline in the percentage of population under age ten. However, whether the national census could represent the local dwellers is questionable. Perhaps the number of children at this place is increasing instead of declining because of the local policy that encourage the newly wed couple to have babies. And maybe the percentage have declined only because the number of the elders is too much. Concluding fewer children here just because the national survey showed so would be untenable. So, the board need to give more details of local children population to boost his argument.

Secondly, the author made the recommendation in the aim to compete with Regal Books, as it have opened its own café. Though the idea of having a café of the bookstore's own is excellent, Regal Books have done so does not justify its rightfulness. We still need to know if the regal books is making more money since the change, and if the two book stores are under similar condition so that we could assume that undertaking the duplicate strategy would bring about similar profit. To form a complete logic ring, the board should better show the outcome of the café at Regal Books, and the differences between the two books.

The recommendation based on the argument does not hold water as well. Even if we give credit to a foreseeable faint future of children books, and opening a café does pay back pretty well in Regal Books, it does not necessarily mean that do the same thing of opening a café is our best shot in the competition. we could invite writers to make presentations weekly in Monarch Books to draw public attention. Or, we could carry out a book-lending policy in advantage of our well-known wide selection of books. Without showing that opening a café in the bookstore outrun these options, we can not just accept it as the best shot.

To sum up, the author should answer the following questions to be more persuasive: Is the native population of children declined recently? Are the two books comparable, and how is the Regal Books doing with the café? Is there no better option than having a café section?