The following is a recommendation from the business manager of Monarch Books.

“Since its opening in Collegeville twenty years ago, Monarch Books has developed a large customer base due to its reader-friendly atmosphere and wide selection of books on all subjects. Last month, Book and Bean, a combination bookstore and coffee shop, announced its intention to open a Collegeville store. Monarch Books should open its own in-store café in the space currently devoted to children’s books. Given recent national census data indicating a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten, sales of children’s books are likely to decline. By replacing its children’s books section with a café, Monarch Books can increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions proved unwarranted.

In the given article, the author asserts that Monarch Books should replace its children’s books section with its own in-store café in order to increase profits and ward off competition from Book and Bean. As reasons for this, the author points out some reasons why café is more beneficial than children’s books section. Nonetheless, the argument relies on several assumptions that need to be explained more clearly.

First and foremost, the author assumes that Book and Bean will open a store in Collegeville given the announcement made. However, showing its intention does not necessarily guarantee that Book and Bean will actually open a store. A future plan may be subject to change, due to some economic or internal problems. If by some reasons it decides not to open a Collegeville store, then there will be no competition between Monarch Books and Book and Bean. Therefore, more evidence is needed to verify that Book and Bean will certainly open a store in Collegeville.

Moreover, the author presumes that recent national decline of children population indicates that the population of children in Collegeville has also decreased. However, the global decline of children population may not imply a local decline of it. For instance, if Collegeville is exceptional and many people in it are likely to have more kids than the other cities in the nation, then the percentage of children may not decrease or even increase. If this is the case, then replacing children’s books section may lose many customers, resulting in a worse situation than before. Hence, change in the children population should be investigated more thoroughly.

Lastly, even if the children population turns out to be declined recently, it is not warranted that this tendency will also persist in the future. If the government decides to increase the total fertility rate and starts to support parents with many kids, then the population of children may be restored in the near future. Even though the needs of children’s books have decreased due to the recent decline, the sales of children’s books may be recovered as the number of children increases. If this is the case, replacing children’s books section to café may not be a good decision. As such, it must be proved that the children’s population will also continue to decrease in the future.

All in all, the argument is not well supported and is based on incomplete assumptions. In order to make it more robust, evidence in terms of the opening of a Collegeville store of Book and Bean and the future decline of children population in Collegeville must be provided.