The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are many indicators on the effectiveness of a political leader. The general welfare and the well-begin of the people is often a good choice for evaluation. Nonetheless, this essay will contend that this is not the only good indicator.

Admittedly, the well-being of citizens tend to reflect the effectiveness of the society leaders. Good political leaders give adequate attentions to the welfare of the citizens and attempts to lead the society that improves the very lives of the people. For one, Obama, a former president of U.S., is often regarded as one of the best presidents in the history of U.S. Indeed, during his presidency, not only the overall quality of the lives of citizens in terms of economy and other social aspects was high, but also the global relationships with other countries were superior. In another example, the political leaders of North Korea were being criticized due to their authoritarianism and not taking attention to the well-being of the society. This flaws were revealed through the lives of the North Korea citizens in that many of them suffer from poverty. Accordingly, the welfare and the goodness of the lives of the citizens may be a good indicator.

However, this is not the only way to judge the government, as there are many other aspects of society. For instance, the level of science and technology of a country is not well reflected by the daily lives of the people. Many countries such as U.S., South Korea and Japan, where there are huge governmental support for research and development, have relatively high level of technologies, such as electronic engineering and robotic industry. On the contrary, some old days of China suffocated from strict governmental interference, hampering the rapid development of scientific achievements. However, such difference is not revealed through the citizens' well-being, for such technological level does not directly affect the people and are likely to make difference later in the future. As such, there are many perspectives that are influenced by the effectiveness of government leaders but are not reflected through the well-being of the citizens.

In sum, despite strong arguments can be thus made for or against the give claim, a disagreeing stance seems more favorable in light of the complexity of the human society. There are many different factors that affect the well-being of the citizens, which we can not always blame for the country's leaders. For instance, the recent novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak have negatively influenced the status of society such as medical support, industries and economy. However, such disaster was not caused by the government's faults, for it is often unpredictable and difficult to preclude. Therefore, a logical thinking leads us to believe that deciding the effectiveness of the leaders only by the citizen's well-being is often unfair and thus is inadvisable.

All in all, the author's claim suggesting the well-being of the country's people for assessing the effectiveness of political leaders seems plausible, but it should not be the only way to evaulate the leaders. Instead, many other aspects should be carefully scrutinized to give a more reasonable evaluation of the country's leaders.