The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the memorandum suggests that in order to prevent the television station from losing further profits, the station should restore the time schedule to the previous version. While it sounds plausible according to the given arguments, these arguments are based on some assumptions that weaken the assertion if prove unwarranted.

First and foremost, the author assumes that many of the viewers dislike the current time schedule, given that there were some complaints concerning the station's coverage. However, since the absolute number or the relative number of complaints compared to the total number of viewers are not given, it is impossible to evaluate the gravity of such situation. For instance, if only 0.01% of viewers has submitted the complaint, then even if the complaints are largly about the time schedule, the situation may not be that worse. Furthermore, it is even possible that the number of complaints has been declined since the schedule change. Then it may be true that most of the viewers prefer the current schedule to the previous one, which breaks the author's assertion. Accordingly, the absolute or relative number of submitted complaints should be provided.

Moreover, the author presumes that the cancel of advertisements from local businesses was due to the decrease of late night news program, provided that the schedule modification and the cancel of advertising occurred simultaneously. However, the fact that two events occurred simultaneously does not mean that one event provided the causal effect to the other. For example, if the country started suffer from budgetary concerns, then the economy of the society can be stagnant, which may force many of the businesses to stop. In other words, if the withdrawls of advertising of local businesses were caused by the stagnant economy of the country rather than the time schedule of the station, then even after restoring the time devoted to weather and local news, their advertising revenues will continue to decline. As such, the strong evidence that the schedule modification caused the cancel of advertising contracts should be given.

Lastly, even if the viewers indeed disliked the new schedule, it may not be possible to attract more viewers by simply reverting it as the author assumes, for it may be possible that the number of people who prefer national news may be greater than those who prefer weather and local news. By adjusting the schedule, the station may have already acquired more viewers than before. If people largely prefer national news, then after reverting the schedule, it may be possible that the number of newly acquired viewers is lower than the number of lost viewers. Therefore, the author should prove that there are less people who prefer national news, or the station lost many viewers after the adjustment.

In conclusion, the author's claim is based on assumptions that makes difficult to assess the given argument. Therefore, more evidence such as the number of complaints of the causation between the schedule modification and the cancel of adverisements should be provided.