The following is a recommendation from the personal director to the president of Acme Publishing Company quot Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy read speed reading course has greatly improved productivity

At first glance, it may seem logical to agree with the author's argument that Acme would improve the work productivity of the employees by requiring all employees to take the Easy Read Speed-reading course. The evidence presented is mentioning that other companies have had success with program, an employee increased their reading speed dramatically, and how an employee was promoted because of how effective this program was for them. There are numerous flaws that exist in this argument; therefore, I will examine the assumptions and describe what the implications are if the assumptions prove to be unwarranted.

Firstly, it is assumed that the employee's improvements in productivity for 'many other companies' are due to the use of this program. The argument depends on this assumption because it uses this vague language to describe how it was effective for others in the past. If this proves to be unwarranted the implication for this is wasting five hundred dollars per employee and the productivity remains unchanged.

Secondly, the author assumes that an employee was promoted from assistant manager to vice president of the company because of this program. We can't be certain that this elevation in work status is due to reading faster. The implications for this assumption if it is unjustified are employees do not enough demonstrate improved efficiency to justify a promotion and false hope is provided to those that work within this company.

Thirdly, stating that the faster someone could read means that they can absorb more information within a single day is the next assumption. Someone could read things very quickly and not retain any of the information they've read. Just because the speed of which the reading is done increases doesn't ensure that the reader absorbs a greater amount of knowledge. The consequence for this assumption if it proves to be unwarranted is employees are under pressure to sift through more information during their shift and retain less information than if they were to go at a slower pace.

In conclusion, since many holes exist within this argument for the reasons that I have described in detail above, we can be certain about the implications I've explained when the assumptions are proven to be unwarranted.