Governments should place few if any restrictions on scientific research and development Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take In develop

The prompt urges that scientific research and development should have few, if any restrictions placed on them by government. I mostly disagree with this claim and will elaborate on the necessary points to defend my stance.

To begin with, many restrictions have been placed on labs conducting research because of inhumane practices that have occurred in the past. These rules have been placed to protect research subjects from apparent harm that could potentially occur. A study from Stanford University in 2020 showed that as many as thirty percent of participants in studies that took place fifty years ago ended up with conditions that lasted for the rest of their lives. As a result, laws and regulations were put in place to prevent human subjects from incurring injuries or illnesses from being a part of the studies.

In addition, aside from preventing inhumane practices on humans, other preventative measures have been taken to keep humans safe. Most research on potentially toxic or carcinogenic chemicals are being tested on laboratory rats and mice before they are tested on humans. For example, artificial sweeteners were tested on these animals before any human research was conducted. When given in recommended dose quantities, these non-nutritive sweeteners have been shown to have no negative side effects on humans.

On the other hand, in contrast to my position, if the government were to place less rules on testing performance enhancing drugs on humans, we would know how to treat the conditions that arise from the athletes who abuse these compounds. We may be able to save lives if the authorities would allow this type of research and development to occur. However, we would not this research to encourage more individuals to participate in taking performance enhancing drugs if we learn that some are not as dangerous as we thought. Thus, it is imperative that the current restrictions on research in the areas stand.

Nevertheless, although it is true that research on drugs that enhance our performance in sport may offer some insight on how to treat any ill side effects that may come out of using them, for the reasons that I have explained it is paramount that the current rules and regulations stay in place.