The following is a recommendation from the personal director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy read speed reading course has greatly improved productivity, one graduate of the course was able to read a 500 page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assiatant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb ina single workday. m\Morover, Easy read would cost Acme only $500 per employee a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three week seminar in spruce city and a lifelong subscription to the easy read newsletter. Clearly, to improve overall producivity, Acme should require all of our employees to take the easy read course."

The recommendation that all of the employees of Acme publishing Company should take Easy Read course is not justified properly. As the director assumes that just taking the course will improve productivity of the comapny.

Firstly, the director states that other comapanies have started giving its employess easy reading course and it has greatly improved productivity. Is reading the ony quality which will help employee rise in the company ? what about qualities like leadership, time management, punctuality are they not neccesary trait in the employees.

In addition to that he also mentions how one graduate of the course was able to read 500-page report in only two hours. It is not justtified whether the document was difficult to read? what was the content of the document? merely stating the amount of page no necessarily give it importance. Another instance of Course graduate rising from assistant manager to vice president of company in under a year? Was that man promoted just because he could read well or there were other qualities in him that led to rise in such a position? It is also assumption on the part of wirter that reading fast can lead to more grasping of the material? How can compare to faster reading to efficient reading ?

Moreover it is said that it costs only $500 per employee ? how many emplyees are there in the organization is not mentioned ? if there are employess in thousands then would it be feasible to give course to each and everyone?

All of this should be taken into consideration before taking such a large step.

To sum up the director did not give convincing evidence about how effective the easy read course is for the employees in the company? As mere reading would not serve productivity to organization. An amployee has to be punctual and effcient to get the task done in time, not all employees have that caliber. A thorough analysis of course benefits must be done to ensure its implications in an organization.