is competition important for buliding up leadership qualities?

I believe that there is competition everywhere in today's world. Without competition, it would not be possible for humans to strive hard and be better for themselves and for the society in large. To imbibe leadership qualities one must also focus on co-operation more than the competition as the former leads to overall development of personality of an Individual.

In addition a young person who wants to lead the world should be capable of carrying the wight of the team. He should be acknowledging strength and weakness of each of the members of his team. For example in Cricket Team work is given importance more than the individual performance, Ms Dhoni captain of Indian cricket team is a role model for lot youngsters nowadays. There are various roles where co-operation is required to complete a certain task. In military operations a leader has to lead the team along with own his own contribution.

Secondly, a leader is the one who understands that he cannot be best in everything he does and understands his own strength and weaknesses. One should have the curiosity and humbleness to learn from rivals, For example in Tennis in doubles a great partner understands the strength of team and leads the team to victory.

However, the quality of competing should also be acquired to be a great leader. There should be healthy competition so that one is motivated to get things done. For example in smartphone companies nowadays have a fierce competition to provide cutting edge technology to its user. It is that competition that is leading to intensive research and greater facilities in mobiles.

To sum up, I believe a Leader should be adapt at making quick decisions which come through competition only. In addition to that one should get conses of whole team to get a job done. So a mix of both is required to become successful person in an stream.