The value of works of art, whether they are literature, music, sculpture or film, depends on how many people understand them.

The value of works of art like literature, music, sculpture or film depends on how many people understand them. I partially agree with the topic as there are various forms of art prevalent in today's world and it is not necessary that people follow them just on the basis of thier understanding. There are people who have no taste in art whatsover they follow it to kill boredom or several other reasons. Take For example music: it is followed by millions of people worldwide yet only a fraction of people understand it.

In additon to music there is dance which is also followed by people for just fun, not everyone understands the various styles of dances but they do enjoy it in pubs, marriages and other occasions. I believe there are two categories of people: the one who understands the art and other who just follow it. For intsance film industry is one of the most popular art form. There are films which have a good story but not enough people to recognize it or merit it. On the other hand there are films which have a huge popularity among people just because of thier famous celebrity casting in the film; which has no good story still it runs successfully.

Secondly, I find music very closer to films in poularity. Here also the story is same what is good is recognized by only a handful of people. Forn instance take Classical music which is very soothing and requires a great piece of mastery to sing as it is understood only by handful and rest just listens to latest electronic music which is very easy to create in software.

Thirdly, one cannot ignore that literature also holds a rightful place in art forms. The great literary work by famous personalities like shakeshpeare is read by only handful of people and undertood by a tiny number.

In conclusion, art is not understood by lot of people yet it is cherished by many. People follow art for various reasons it is not necessary that they understand it.