The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee—a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The personal director in his recommendation claims that there a great advantage for Acme Publishing Company to take Easy Read course, although he failed to present strong arguments to support this point of view. Thus, based on the fact presented in the recommendation, we cannot be sure that the company will benefit a lot.

By saying that this course will bring advantages to the company, the author connects this with the fact that employers will be more productive. It is unclear, however, whether these aspects are correlated. For example, increased performance of workers will not lead to great gains, because they are currently hard-working people who do their tasks quickly. We are unfamiliar with any information about the level of employee performance. There are no evidences that workers are low-productive and face problems with performing their tasks. Thus, this course will not bring benefits to Acme Publishing Company.

Additionally, from the text above we can conclude that the main purpose of course is to teach people to read faster. From this, the question whether the company should pay money for this course is obscure. Perhaps, the employers at Acme Publishing Company do not need read faster, because the corpus of information to absorb is not great. For example, employees use computers to find and process information quickly, and they do not work with the great amount of data. Hence, it is better to investigate whether workers are needed to read faster or this ability is not primary.

As a complement, the author mentions that this course will cost only $500 per employee that, in his opinion, is not much money for the company. Although, we cannot rely on this assumption without any further details. We are not aware about the financial situation of the company, its incomes as well as how many employees it has. For example, the company has tough times and cannot afford extra outlays. Moreover, the number of workers can be great that Acme Publishing Company’s budget will be affected. In this turn, the company will not be able to pay salaries on the same level, which will lead to the reduction of performance, not the growth.

To sum up, based on the arguments provided in the essay, we cannot rely on this recommendation and claim that this course will bring benefits to Acme Publishing Company.