Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Perhaps, most universities and colleges may think about this idea as a way to accept only talented students which, hence, will be beneficial for these educational establishments. Although, I strongly disagree with the statement above, and think that such institutions have to give a chance for all students equally.

First of all, I would like to refer to the history and show how the suggested idea can have a negative impact on the entire society. It is easy to find some examples of prominent scientists which had not showed any interest in the field they became famous in. For instance, Albert Einstein was not a top student at school, moreover, he had problems with physics. Although, we all know him as the person who created one of the base theories in understanding the coloration between time and space. Thus, if once the school had made him quit classes, this theory would probably have never been opened.

Moreover, it is unfair to deprive a person of a chance to receive a good education if he is currently not a student showing perspective. The chance must be equal for all students regardless of their previous success. For example, a student might have had problems with the future pursuing field, because he did not have a lot of chances to evolve in it. A student can be from a poor family who cannot afford to buy a PC, but, indeed, this student will be good at programming if he has needed resources for his self-development.

Moreover, hard-work is what can bring success in the future. A prospective student can have a low mark or GPA, because he did not know why he needed to have good ones. Then, one day he could realize he would like to get a bachelor's degree in a field. He changed his mind and would work harder in the future to improve his knowledge.

Thus, I do not agree that educational institutions have to dissuade students; otherwise, they have to encourage them to study even if students have some problems with their education.