The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read costs only $500 per employee - a small price to pay when you consider the benefits to Acme. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

The director states that many other companies have recently improved their productivity by having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course. But the director fails to provide sufficent information on what sort of companies they were. The companies, who have increased their productivity, might have the products different than that of Acme Publishing Company. If the companies who have increased their productivity and Acme Publishing Company have different products, compelling all the employee of Acme Publishing Company may not be fruitful.

Similarly, the director's claim: One graduate of the course was able to read a five-hundred-page report in only two hours, may not be just because of the Reading Course. The graduate may have been good in reading before getting enrolled in the course. The director has not mentioned the initial reading speed of the graduate, which makes the before and after comparision difficult. And was the perfomance the same for all the graduates? Were all graduates able to read with same speed? Or, Was the reading speed of all the graduates improved? Without all these questions answered, it is impossible to predict the improvement in the productivity of Acme Publishing Company too.

Furthermore, the director says that another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. But, was the reading speed the mere factor for the promotion. The graduate might had good skills and appraisal to get promotion. The gradudate may have good commanding and leading skills due to which he got rose to Vice precident.

The argument did sound with strong premises. However, it lacked the neccessary data to strenghten that premise. For instance, if the director was able to provude further explanation on what sort of the other companies are or he was able to ensure the reading capacity of all the graduates were enhanced, it would have been garuntee the improvement of Acme Publishing Company by requiring all of their employees to take the Easy Read course. In last, in absence of these ,the argument remains flawed.