The following is a recommendation from the personnel director to the president of Acme Publishing Company.

"Many other companies have recently stated that having their employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course has greatly improved productivity. One graduate of the course was able to read a 500-page report in only two hours; another graduate rose from an assistant manager to vice president of the company in under a year. Obviously, the faster you can read, the more information you can absorb in a single workday. Moreover, Easy Read would cost Acme only $500 per employee — a small price to pay when you consider the benefits. Included in this fee is a three-week seminar in Spruce City and a lifelong subscription to the Easy Read newsletter. Clearly, Acme would benefit greatly by requiring all of our employees to take the Easy Read course."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The president of Acme publishing company is recommending that all its employees take the Easy Read Speed-Reading Course to improve their productivity. However, his argument is rife with holes and assumptions that weaken it. Specific evidence is needed to bolster his claims regarding the reading course.

To begin with, the president makes the claim that other companies have greatly improved their productivity due to this course. But this statement is too vague and does not supply enough evidence to make it true. For instance, there needs to be quantifiable data on how much productivity has increased percentage wise. Also, what type of companies is he referring to? If it’s a company that manufactures goods instead of a publishing company, well one can make the connection right away that reading have little to no effect on their productivity increase.

Furthermore, the president cites two employees as an exemplar of what the course can provide. He mentions that one worker was able to read a 500 pg report but does not provide information if that report was solely composed of characters or was mostly images like graphs and pie charts. Again, this would severely weaken the impact of reading a 500 pg report. Also, was this report able to increase productivity in one way or another? If not, then his recommendation will not hold water regarding productivity. Additionally, he uses a second employee as an example of climbing the career latter by just being able to read fast. Can it be that in supplement to this reading course that employee was also completing a university degree? He mentions that he was able to achieve being vice president of the company a position that rarely happens without higher education.

Lastly, the price of $500 must be quantified and presented through the accounting department to make the statement that “it’s a small price to pay” because this number can increase exponentially putting the company at a deficit. Finally, do all employees have to enroll in this course? There’’s no evidence that floor workers such as janitors will see any benefits from this class. Perhaps, those $500 can be used to increase worker safety, better equipment, or better pay. Usually, all these lead to better employee retention and satisfaction ultimately increasing productivity

All in all, a more educated work force leads to better production. However, the president of Acme publishing Company has not provided enough evidence to sway the board in funding his recommendation. As it stands his argument is flawed without evidence and therefore not persuasive implement this course.