In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The author claims that every man or women with a position of power should be removed from their seat after five years. This is a compelling argument to which we must examine closely, however, I mostly agree with the stated assumption.

In some cases, it is not a sagacious move to remove someone from power within five years. Especially, those in the zenith of power positions like the President of a country. For example, it is understanding that presidents can serve up to eight years, due to the demand that their role requires. Also, because the transition of moving out of office can be strenuous and slow and it is quite difficult to find candidates with the same amount of experience.

However, as the saying goes “with great power comes great responsibility” so it’s up to the governing bodies and its public to make sure that venality does not arise among its power holders. What better way to preclude this from happening than to shift power every five years? Not only does this serve as a safety mechanism but also prevents a luddite outlook from new candidates that keep up with modern issues. For example, Nevada a small town in Texas has become a polemical town lately due to their representative’s lack of transparent bookkeeping of the citizen’s taxes. The representative has been serving more than fifteen years; however, he did not keep up with the times and refused to go digital. Thus, creating a financial woe among allocated funds in a trail of paper labyrinth. One could argue that this is the people’s fault for not vetting his work, however, in a real-world scenario people are always busy and seldomly do any of us actually look into what our government is doing. We take a leap of faith and accept their promises.

Furthermore, five years is an ample timeframe for a person in power to complete their goals. Yes, one could argue that the wheels of politics/business are slow, but this does not mean they could not put their plan into motion for the next successor to take over. For example, Dallas mayor Ron Kirk made it his goal to improve the infrastructure of the city’s highways, he started the blueprint and left it ready for the new mayor to finish. If the people still are in agreement, they will vote someone in with the same outlook, this is the beauty of having different people in power every five years. In this manner, to say there is not enough time is simply not a valid reason on why to extent the five-year timeframe.

All in all, while in some cases it is beneficial to have a person in power overstay their position, sometimes it is more important to have a safety mechanism in place to ensure that the person knows he or she is on the clock and must make the most of it. This not only creates productivity, but also ensures that new fresh minds are considered also.