In any profession — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

It is generally known that the role of leadership comes with tenure, it is inappropriate to have one person or a particular group of people sit at the helms of authority over a very long period of time. However, the statement is not applicable to all professions and not necessarily for a period of 5 years. With that being stated, my opinion on the statement will be partially agreed with 3 reasons and examples.

Over the years, a popular line; “ children are the leaders of tomorrow” has been dwelt upon from generation to generation. Sadly, this “perceived” leadership does not get to circulate around the children before the next generation kids are born, with the same cycle repeating itself. People study for different reasons, people come up with new ideas, abilities, strategies, and effective leadership skills which are all meant to be exercised at different stages of their life. Imagine a situation where different professions have different tenures of amazing leaders, the profession will be nothing short of growth and innovation which will engender the profession to better fruition. For example, an organization that has different leaders within different tenures will definitely experience growth, a changed structure, new inputs, and leadership style as opposed to an organization with a long-boring leadership that has been in existence for a period of time.

Furthermore, a leader in power should definitely see the need to step down after a while unless he/she has an ulterior motive or is benefiting from the seat the wrong way. Of course, he/she is meant to be weary of ideas, strength, and managerial abilities because taking up such positions comes with a lot of responsibilities which ends up depleting one’s reserves. So, 5 years is a good time for a leader "to long" for a step-down, to rest, face other facets of life, family and maybe try something new, and allow someone else to take over his place for a refreshed experience in the profession.

In addition, there are cases where the statement might not seem to be favorably applied, for example, in business, a Founder and CEO might have to spend a longer duration of time in leadership because as the forerunner and initiator of the idea, he/she has the best energy, enthusiasm, zeal, and commitment level to manage a startup until it can pose sustainable for another person to manage. Also, it is also pertinent to note that some cases need a tenure of less than or more than 5 years, It is relative to the profession and leadership style.

Finally, the statement provides a reasonable recommendation that should be applied to most professions, on the other hand, it failed to address the extremities in the statement. Maybe, the statement needs to be further refined to favorably suit different cases. Generally, actualizing the statement, in the long run, will lead to a developed economy.