Governments should place few if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development are basic for the world’s advancement. The recommendation no doubt suggests more like a monitoring and control measure towards research and development, a reason might be to minimize hazards that follow scientific errors, another reason might be to regulate and approve scientific research and development after passing requirements. However, it is pertinent to note that evolution, innovations, and scientific development so far did not face restrictions by an authority, they might have had limitations in the process but it was something that was within their control and not imposed.

Taking attention to the topic, the restriction mentioned in the recommendation is unclear, it might not be favorable to a segment of scientists and developers, if only opinions will be sought from the primary movers; scientists, that would be a different case. Well, a key question that must be answered is “why are restrictions needed for scientific research and development?”

To reject the recommendation, a circumstance in which the effect of the recommendation will not be advantageous is with the case of individual scientists without formal affiliations or connections with people in power and authority. For example, a scientist can be in a tiny space and an idea of how science can solve existing problems on earth drops into his head. Now, imagine there are few restrictions either regulatory, financial, approval, etc. placed by the government, of course, there will be a reduction in enthusiasm and eagerness to try something new. The scientist might not be able to meet certain requirements in order to be approved to carry out the test? Possibly, the scientist might be confident enough to carry out the test knowing that the government might likely come up with a case against him in the long run.

In conclusion, knowing fully well that innovation can be engendered from anyone, anywhere, and with anything, a restriction should therefore not be encouraged.