A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Most nations have adopted a universal curriculum to be implemented throughout grade school. While on paper this approach seems to make sense, it is not always the most productive choice to evoke a student's learning talents. I disagree with this approach for the following two reasons.

To begin with, integrating the same national curriculum is assuming that one size fits all students' educational needs. For example, students have different interests that spark curiosity. In this manner, if a subject that is fascinating to some students is left out of the curriculum, then this will discourage a student to try harder on the required courses she or he is taking. For example, many school districts require students to take music as part of the learning objectives throughout rudimentary grades. But most of those students see it as a tedious task that does not interest them in the least. This ends up being a counterproductive mechanism.

Furthermore, forcing students to take a generalized study plan hinders a student's ability to find their strengths and weaknesses among other subjects. For instance, Dr. Ben Carson did not discover his passion for science until college, because his school district focused more on math courses rather than life sciences. If he would have been exposed to science at an early age, his genius would not have been hampered. Additionally, universal standardized exams use the one size fits all model. Similar to a national curriculum. This does not work well for students that are critical thinkers or "think outside the box" students. Again, this shows how a national curriculum can be deleterious to a student's learning ability.

All in all, while a rational person might agree that having a national curriculum can be beneficial, this is not always true for the reasons I mentioned. There has to be an equilibrium of predetermined study plans and electives that give students the innate power to choose their own quality of learning with the material that interests them as the focal point. Countries must adopt this approach in order to keep up their advantage in an ever-changing global economy that is immensely diverse.