The following recommendation was made by the president and administrative staff of Grove College, a private institution, to the college's governing committee."Recently, there have been discussions about ending Grove College's century-old tradition of all-

The recommendation presents that the private institution Grove college should not admit men into their institution and to perserve its tradion of all-female education. To support this claims, the writer points out the result of the surveys conducted by the students government and the answers from a seperate survey. However, the evidences suggested to support the claims seems questionable. So that, the author should answers to the question to strengthen the argument.

First, it is not clear whether the survey answered by the students is more importatnt than the survey reponded by the faculty members. Because it is totally possible to think the the opinion of the faculty members are more salient because the students will leave the school after graduation anyway while the members of the faculty will stay in the school longer.

Second, it is also dubious whether the survey conducted by the students are representative for the whole opinion of the students of the institute. Because the passage does not contain any information about the entire number of students, and the number of the participants of the survey. It is possible that the result comes from the only few selected student who oppose the coeducation.

Third, the passage need to answer to the question whether the survey answered by alumnae are reliable. for example, it is entriely possible that the survey designed to elicit the lopsided answers. And it is also not guaranteed that the survey is conducted for all alumnae.

Forth, the writher does not give information whether the opinions of the students is related with the morale among students. Even though the recommendation argues that the coeducation will increase the morale of the students, it is not granted at all. The fact that the majority of the students who participated in the survey oppose the coeducation does not denote the future decrease of the morale. We can not find any relationship between two concept in the passage.

lastly, it is questionable that the the preserving the tradition of all-female education will keep supporting from alumnae. Because there are possiblity that the alumnae underwrite the finanance of the insitution regardless of the issue related with the coeducation. The change of the policy does not necessarily mean the change of the attitude of the alumnae.

In conculsion, because there are serveral questions need to be answered to bolster the claims of the recommendation, in my opinion, the college's governing commitee will not accept the idea. If the writer want to be more persuadable, the questions suggested above must be solved at least.