The following report appeared in the newsletter of GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors.

"A novel therapy has come to our attention that promises to significantly decrease the incidence of dementia in our aging community. According to a 21-year study led by the Albert Einstein College of Medicine and funded by the National Institute on Aging, while many physical activities like playing tennis or golf, swimming, bicycling, dancing, and walking for exercise provided cardiovascular benefits for seniors, only one physical activity offered protection against dementia: that was frequent dancing. At GoldenAge we currently provide residents with extensive recreational facilities. These include tennis courts, a fitness center, and lap pools in each senior apartment complex. However, we have no dance studio space at GoldenAge, nor any social dance programs.

Clearly, social dancing can prevent or delay the onset of dementia. Since the onset of dementia inevitably signals the imminent move of residents from our independent living apartments to the more heavily staffed and therefore more costly to operate assisted living quarters, we recommend the establishment of social dance programs at all GoldenAge senior residences—as a cost-effective, positive way to ward off dementia and enable our residents to remain in their independent living quarters."

Respond by writing an essay in which you discuss the specific evidence you would need to judge the validity of the argument and explain how this evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the newsletter, the GoldenAge Independent and Assisted Living Facilities for Seniors claimed to establish

dance programs which will help to alleviate dementia and lure the residents to their independent living quarters.

For such claims, the argument doesn't provide enouch evidences and the assumptions are full of holes. So, the assertion

made is unwarrented because of following reasons.

To begin, what are the reasons for shifting of the senior residents out of GoldenAge? For instance, they might not be

satisfied with other facilities at GoldenAge.They may have found other residents with better care facilities. If any of

these hold true then the argument doesnot hold water.

Further, how much is cost-effective? For instance, some might offer higher value whereas some mightnot. So, the argument

doesnot provide much information about the cost. Therefore, the argument is not valid until we can have more information

about the above question.

Moreover, how long duration of social dance programs that will be held at GoldenAge? Will there be enough dance hours to

mitigate the dementia? The argument didn't considered this. In fact, wilthout the cosidiration of the dance duration,

the argument is greatly undermined.

In sum, the argument made various assumptions which are groundless, and the evidences are incomplete. Above mentioned

questions must be answered before we can check the validity of the argument made above.