The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this report, the author recommends the daily use of Ichthaid to prevent colds since people in nearby East Meria consumes large quantities of fish. Also, when people catch fewer colds, the absences from school and word will decrease. Convincing as the recommendation may sound, additional evidence is need to evaluate whether Ichthaid can play such an importance role in lowering absenteeism and preventing colds.

To begin with, while fish consumption is very high in nearby East Meria, no evidence serves to rule out the possibility that fish are usually sold to other areas by local people. We need more evidence concerning the concrete consumption of those fish. If it turns out that most of the fish are transported to other markets in other areas rather than be eaten by local people, then the argument is weakened; if all the fish are eaten by local people, then the argument is strengthened. Besides, even if the local people do have a lot of fish for food, additional evidence gains great importance to determine whether the frequency of visiting the doctor equals the frequency of catching a cold. If a person has caught a cold but he or she is unwilling to see the doctor, then it is not safe to say fish consumption can preclude the cold. If new evidence shows that people will go to the doctor as soon as they catch a cold, then the argument is strengthened.

Second, specific evidence is critically needed to show the exact reasons why people are absent from schools and work. Despite the fact that catching a cold could be a reason, it is hasty to say it is the only reason for absences. If additional evidence emerges suggesting that people are also absent when they are willing to take a rest without any illness or they have to do other things, such as attending a concert or other entertainments, then the argument is weakened. If it turns out that only when people catch a cold do they ask for absence, then we can safely say that preventing colds can absolutely reduce absences.

Finally, granted that fish can exert positive effects in preventing the cold and the reason , we still need evidence to verify whether Ichthaid can have the same effects as fish. It remains doubtful whether other parts of the fish indeed precludes colds. If it is the fish bones or the fish skins that have the critical effects in preventing colds, then we cannot claim the daily use of Ichthaid is effective as suggested. If new evidence from the lab shows that it is the Ichthaid that has positive influence other that other parts of the fish, then the recommendation is strengthened.

To sum up, although the author suggests that fish consumption can prevent cold and decrease absences from schools and word, we still need additional evidence to determine the real consumption and the exact reasons for absences. Also, whether the daily use of Ichthaid can exert the same effects as fish still remains questionable. Only when additional evidence is shown can we safely maintain that the recommendation can absolutely prevent colds and reduce absenteeism.