The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While the concern for the well-being of citizens is commended, it cannot be inferred from the information provided that the consumption of fish byproducts will prevent colds. As many a statistician will confirm, correlation does not prove causation. Lurking variables could be at play, the citizens may have other reasons for infrequent doctor visits, and the validity of the study should be noted.

It is possible that lurking variables are at fault for the decreased instances of colds. Other dietary factors may have been at play; these respondents may have a higher intake of immune boosting foods. Frequent handwashing has been shown to decrease occurrence of illness – perhaps the public health department led a recent campaign. Several lifestyle factors have been shown to boost immune response, such as adequate sleep and lower stress levels. With the information provided, it cannot be definitively proven that fish consumption causes improved health.

The study shows that East Merians visit the doctor less frequently for colds. However, it is not stated whether the study asked East Merians how frequently they contract colds. There may be other reasons East Merians choose to visit the doctor less frequently. Perhaps there are lower rates of insurance coverage discouraging people from visiting the doctor, or comparable rates of coverage but higher average deductibles. Perhaps the area is more rural and doctors are less accessible. There may even be cultural factors at play, such as a preference for homeopathic remedies.

Ichthaid may contain substances found in fish, but can the recommenders be certain that the component of fish that causes lower instances of disease is found in the supplement? This question assumes not only that fish consumption is reason East Merians contract fewer colds, but also that if the active ingredient is found in the supplement, it is a high enough dosage to be effective.

Lastly, the validity of the study should be brought into question. What was the method of response? Who was surveyed? What were the demographics of those studied and do they match those of our town? The elderly and children are most susceptible to illness; if East Meria has a larger proportion of young adults, perhaps the findings are not transferrable. Of the respondents, did the study analyze their individual fish intake? Higher rates of fish consumption in an area may not mean higher rates of fish consumption among respondents – especially if, say, respondents were selected in person as they were exiting a steakhouse.

With all of the above factors noted, efforts to affect the wellness behaviors of citizens should be continued – which may mean promotion of Ichthaid. Barring evidence that the product is detrimental, recommending its use for citizens it would raise awareness of the underlying issue and might lead people to engage in other evidence based wellness-promoting behaviors. The recommenders should focus on promoting evidence-based methods of disease prevention, at risk of losing the trust of the public and inadvertently fueling a movement similar to anti-vaxx which is rooted in distrust of healthcare professionals.