The following report appeared in the newsletter of the West Meria Public Health Council.

"An innovative treatment has come to our attention that promises to significantly reduce absenteeism in our schools and workplaces. A study reports that in nearby East Meria, where fish consumption is very high, people visit the doctor only once or twice per year for the treatment of colds. Clearly, eating a substantial amount of fish can prevent colds. Since colds represent the most frequently given reason for absences from school and work, we recommend the daily use of Ichthaid — a nutritional supplement derived from fish oil — as a good way to prevent colds and lower absenteeism."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument

The writer argues that daily use of fish oil would prevent colds and reduce absenteeism. It is based on the premises that in nearby city, fish consumption is found to be high and it is correlated with the fewer number of visits to doctors for treatment of colds and the most frequent cause of absenteeism in West Meria is colds. The argument seems true at first sight, however, on deeper analysis it becomes clear that certain relevant aspects have not been taken into account, leading to a number of unverified evidences and logical flaws.

One such evidence is the unverified analogy, between East Meria and West Meria, which may not be same or similar in these two locations. It is believed that two locations are inherently different in terms of their temperatures, geographical conditions, quality of water and air and everyday activities of the citizens. For example, it is likely that the temperature in East Meria is comfortable or always between 25 degrees Celsius to 30 degrees Celsius, whereas the temperature in West Meria is always between 5 degrees Celsius to 10 degrees Celsius. In the case of former, people are less likely to be suffering from colds whereas in the latter case low temperature causes people to catch colds. Therefore, in order to make the argument more reliable, the writer should collect the evidence from meteorological departments of these locations and evaluate them to confirm that environment conditions in these two locations are similar.

Secondly, the writer’s argument is incorrectly based on the unverified analogy between fish oil and fish, which would make such a comparison irrelevant. Since, most people agree that fish oil is prepared by adding other ingredients to the oil extracted from fish and it goes under chemical treatment for few days and this mixture be preserved for days before making it available to the consumers. Therefore, the health effects of fish, which is directly consumed without going through such processes, would be different from such chemically produced fish oil. Fish may be found to counter colds but fish oil may not lead to desired results. Therefore, in order to make the argument more valid, the writer should collect the evidence from the scientific study for the efficacy of fish oil and compare it with effects of fish to confirm that fish oil works as well as fish to prevent colds.

Finally, the writer has arbitrarily assumed the unverified cause of absenteeism is genuine colds, which would significantly weaken the argument. It is widely believed that common sicknesses such as colds and cough are used by students and employees as an excuse to abstain from their duties since these sicknesses do not generally required to be supported by medical certificate or a prescription by a doctor. These maladies also used by these people in order to get one day leaves since these maladies are not required a careful treatment and these get healed gradually by the time. Therefore, in order to overcome this flaw, the writer should collect the evidence from the medical tests conducted on these employees and students for symptoms of colds and confirm that these people are actually suffering from colds

After close examination of the argument presented, it is apparent that the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its reliance of certain unverified evidences. The recommendations in the above paragraphs show how this argument may be strengthened and more logically sound in order to evaluate the viability of the proposed measure.