The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising

The argument as presented by the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company to reallocate a larger share of revenue in building awareness in the public through advertisement seems quite complete at first glance but when viewed thoroughly one can see various aspects in the statement that can seriously be questioned thus weakening the argument . So if the director reconsiders these flaws in the argument and tries to reformulate the core idea of the argument by backing it with enough evidences cAN certainly strengthen the base for the argument.

Firstly as claimed by the marketing department , the decreased viewership of the movies produced by the company in the past year compared to any other year seems quite apocryphal because of lack of enough quantitative figures to support the claim which if followed with the increase in percentage of positive reviews per movie by the critics ultimately leads to a certain conclusion which may not possibly the true reason behind such a situation. These claims as put forth should be adequately backed in order to be fail-safe when questioned . Moreover, the trend of the past year may not necessarily be followed in the coming year for which adequate statistical data should be corrected in order to understand the true scenario .Also,it may be the case that the past year has seen a significant amount of immigration to another town which has certainly decreased the number of people who have viewed the movie . The claim as put forth by the marketing department may be concerned with the local audience viewership and at the same time the positive responses by the movie reviewers may be from a global perspective . So,making a decision based on such a claim may prove to be disastrous if scope of the claim is not kept in mind.

Secondly, as concluded by the director regarding the reach of these reviews to the audience is quite apt if the above claim is true to the fact but at the same time due to incomplete framwork of the claim this conclusion is valid to a certain extent and therefore the decision taken by the production company to invest in advertising may or maynot prove to be beneficial . Also,the reasoning that the decrease in viewership is due to the lack of awareness rather than due to poor quality of movies is quite bold to make as it do lack enough evidences to make such a claim .

Alas,in concluding the review of this argument I would like the director to review and reframe the above argument so as to make its base concrete so that it can stand the test when present infront of the committee .