The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author of the memo recommends that the company should allocate more money for advertising in order to make the public more aware of their presence on the market. He bases his argument on the assumtions that their movie received high rating even though fewer people attended the Super Screen-produced movies. However thre main question must be asnwered to understand the streanghtness of the argumment.

First if all, are there other possibilities of wathcing Super Screen-produced movies rather than attending a cinema? It might be the case that the majority of their viewers are seeing the movies online, perhaps on priate web-sites. For instance, russians web-sites are known for the plethora of movies they make available free of charge. As a result, the company cannot track the number of veiws they receive from these, and the information is eroneous. If the above mentioned has merit, then the argument as it is now does not hold water.

Second of all, are all movies highly rated? If not, then allocation of money for advertising of all movies might do more harm than good. For example, people might like one of their movies, however, if other movies that have a lower desirability will be advertise, the company might suffer loses from the fact that now the share of negative reviews will increase. Consequently, the critics will be made more aware of the company's movies and, as aresult, they will have to deal with a higher number of negative comments. If the afore-mentioned is true, then the recommendation is not well founded.

Finally, did the marketing department study the reviews of the other movies of the company? To illustrate, maybe the overall content of the "Super Screen" has decreased in value, and this is the reason why fewer people attend their movies. In this case one movie might have had received good reviews, but the other ten might have been disliked. As a result, if the company implements the recommendation to found the advertising more, they might suffer a bigger loss as the public will be made more aware of the movies that have a lower quality.

In conclusion, the argumment as it stands now is ill founded and needs more precise research. To answer the three questions, the company needs to find out: where do the viewers prefer to watch Super Screen's movies; what are the rations of other of their movies, and whether the marketing department took in consideration other movies that did not receive such desirable reviews.