The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the last year. Clearly, the content of these reviews is not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not in the quality of our movies but with public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater quantity of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument relies on the memo from the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. He argues that Super Screen should allocate a great share of its budget next year to imply more advertising in order to reach the public. In the past year, the amount of people attending movies produced by Super Screen decreased than in any other year. Director assumes that people are providing movies with positive reviews. He also unnecessarily supposes that problem of decreased viewership is due to lack of awareness of the movies rather than quality of the movies. Due to his presented reasons the director conceives his claim of implying greater share of money in advertising, which in my opinion provides no credible support and evidences for the same.

Firstly, the director fallaciously assume that the percentage of positive reviews has actually increased in the past year. It might be possible that these sanguine comments were done on movies produced previous than the last year. The director fails to provide a legitimate evidence. He states in his own memo that some specific movies achieved praise, it is not likely that all the movies were actually good in quality. Instead, most of the movies produced might not have reached the audience due to lack of quality. The director is found short to provide with additional details that could underpin his claim.

Even if the previous assumption stood credible, the succeeding supposition definitely falls short to support the author's claim. He assumes that the content of those reviews are not reaching enough of the prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of their movies rather the public's lack of awareness that good quality movies are available. The director makes an unnecessary assumption that the movies produced were surely of very good quality. The director does not provide any of the evidences to demonstrate the same. There might be the probability that the movies produced by Super Screen during the past year, were not that good enough as compared to the movies they produced in previous years. Thus, resulting in decrease in the affluence of the viewers. The director clearly falls short in substantiating his putative claim.

To conclude, the director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company, argues his claim on hollow grounds. In order to disillusion his erroneous assumptions and to support his allegation, he needs to provide additional details, knowledge and credible evidences. The aforementioned evidences clearly falls short in the explanation of the same.