The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Super Screen Movie Production Company wishes to address their lower movie attendance rate. While it is concerning movie attendance is down, questions like industry comparison, number and change of positive reviews, public awareness of reviews, and an unbias source would be crucial to answering first before concluding reaching the public about the quality of the movies will lead to an increase in movie-goers.

The first question to answer is, have people been attending fewer movies this year than any other year across the film industry? It is possible that if Super Screen has seen a decline in attendance, so have other production companies. Moviegoers may possibly have preferred outdoor activities to attending indoor movies, or maybe there are fewer theaters open this year due to unforeseen circumstances. Understanding movie attendance across all films and production companies can help illuminate if this is a concern for the industry at large, or a concern specific to Super Screen.

While it is a good sign that the percentage of positive reviews has increased, more information would be helpful to determine the impact of this statement. Additional understanding of the actual number of positive and negative reviews posted, both this year and last year can illuminate if the number of reviews, or if the change in positive reviews, is significant. Did the number of positive reviews go from 5 to 10? If so, that is still a relatively small sample size. Did the reviews increase from 99 to 100? While promising, that is a relatively small increase. Super Screen would need to evaluate the overall number of reviews, as well as the increase, to determine if the change in positive reviews is significant.

In addition to the actual number and change in reviews, is Super Screen sure the public is not aware of positive reviews? Maybe they are aware of the reviews, but reviews are not the main driving factor behind choosing a film to see in theater. Perhaps moviegoers prefer to pick movies based on actors in the film, or how engaging the trailer is. If that is the case, advertising positive reviews will not have an increased effect on Super Screen-produced movie viewers.

Finally, Super Screen should determine if the information and recommendation is coming from the most trustworthy source. The marketing department is motivated to have a larger budget. Their argument, that the company needs to increase public advertising, would directly benefit their work. Internally at the company, they are not a trustworthy source. A non-bias group should assess the validity of the claim to evaluate if increased awareness of the positive reviews would in fact result in increased viewership.

While the lower attendance of Super Screen movies must be addressed, the company must investigate a few key questions before endeavoring a plan of action. If Super Screen Movie Production Company had a better understanding of the current number of moviegoers, the number and change of their positive reviews, what information moviegoers use to pick a movie, and an unbias assessment of the issue, they can make an informed recommendation to address lower movie attendance.