The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director is assuming a lot of things in the given memo. Planning a budget is a very important step and the divisions of it have to analysed very carefully. Here, the director believes he has to allocate a greater share of the budget next year for advertising. This may not be necessary as he is assuming a lot of stuff which is going to lead him to wasting his money.

Firstly, when he talks about the report, there is no information on how many people have given reviews and how they have each rated the movies. It could be possible that out of the very few people who attended the past year, everyone were lovers of the Super Screen movies. Hence, they have given positive reviews. Whereas, in the previous years, though the audience was huge, they may not have been Super Screen movie lovers. Also, a lesser number of people may have given reviews in the previous years compared to the past year. It could also be possible that the people who hated Super Screen movie gave reviews back then, making their overall rating go down.

Secondly, when the author talks about fewer people attending the Super Screen movie in the past year when compared to the other years, there is no proper evidence to why this happened. It could be that in the other years, many people where free when this event occured and ended up attending it but were busy now and were not able to attend. Or they could have watched it elsewhere or maybe even from home as it wasn't a premiere, they may have a copy of the movie. This is a very important point as the reviews of people who have watched the movies are the most important for a movie company.

Thirdly, the director believes that the quality of his movies is good and that people are unware of his movies. It is possible that the people are fully aware of his movies. Maybe they do not find Super Screen movies to be of good quality like the director believes it to be. Or maybe the people felt it was unnecessary for them to spend so much on Super Screen movies to watch in a theathre and decided to watch it someplace cheaper or at home itself. That is one of the main reasons for them to not have any interest in watching these movies.

In conclusion, it is not right for the author to believe that he has to allocate a greater share of his budget the following year to reach the public through advertising. This would be a total waste of the budget if the audience were already aware of the Super Screen movies. It would be better if the director gathers more information on how these reviews were given and also survey to find out if all the people are aware of his Super Screen movies before spending it all on advertising.