The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation,

The argument is well presented and appears relatively sound at first glance. The proposed solution sounds prudent. However on evaluating the solution and on closer examination by shedding light on more facts and presenting certain unanswered questions , it is easy to infer that the argument is based on fallacious assumptions and commits a false analogy. The author claims that fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies this year as the contents of the positive reviews are not reaching a wide audience and hence a greater share of its budget needs to be allocated for advertising.

The author does not indicate the percentage of movies for which the reviews were good. He just states that the percentage of positive reviews increased last year for specific movies. In order to strengthen the argument, the author needs to present the percentage of movies for which the reviews are good. It can be the case that the reviews were good only for two or three out of ten movies last year which are very low figures for a production company. However, the argument can be strengthened if a higher percentage of movies actually received positive reviews.

The author also does not indicate the the percentage of how much the positive reviews have increased from the previous year or the percentage of positive revies last year. Suppose, the previous year was only able to muster only twenty to twenty five percent positive reviews and this year the percentage has risen to thirty, it is not a very big leap. The number of negative reviews still outnumber the number of positive reviews. Exact figures need to be preented to strengthen the argument and to provide a better basis for the assumptions

The genre of the movies is not taken into account. For instance the Super Screen Movie company focusses on archaic themes that today's general public are not interested in. These movies might receive good reviews by the viewers watching them but the themes are not appreciated by the public.

Other external factors such as the number of cinema theaters and the quality of cinema theaters where the movie is presented in are not explored. The movie might not be telecasted in the best theaters of the city and this will severly impact viewership. Research has shown that not everyone attends cinemas for the quality of the movie but for the asthetics, features and options available in the movie theater. Young parents might require a play area to leave their kids for a while during the duration of the film. Some people would like good quality popcorn. These factors also play a part on deciding the movie theater. No proof is provided that the movie is displayed in all the cinema theaters in the city.

While the argument presents an interesting hypothesis, the data presented is not strong enough to establish the validity of the conclusion. Furthermore the origin, validity and the depth of the survey was not provided. The number of people surveyed for one film, where the people were surveyed, the percentage of the people who have reviewed the film after watching the film are unanswered. The researcher can strengthen his/her claim by answering the questions presented in the essay and by dismissing and by but the argument as it stands is incomplete.