"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In a memo, the director of a production company asserts that since last year, although the number of people attending the movies produced by them decreased, the percentage of positive reviews by the reviewers increased. thus, he concludes that there is no problem with the quality of their content but they need to invest more in in order to reach to more people. However, the author is making some bold assumptions that, if not substantiated, can dramatically weaken the author's argument. The author needs to answer three questions before any compelling case can be made in favour of the argument.

Firstly, what is the guarantee that the profits brought in by implementing this proposal will compensate for the money allocated in the budget ? it might be possible that the money invested in overruns the actual profits it brings to the company. The author presumes that will indeed be the case but doesn't provide any justification or data to substantiate his claim. thus, the author needs to provide answer to the above question before we can come to a solid conclusion.

Secondly, on what premise is the author basing his claim that there is nothing wrong with the quality of the movies being produced? it might be possible that their quality has deteriorated over time which explains the dwindling number of people who came out to watch their movies. it may be possible that people are aware of all this and do not come in huge numbers for their movies. The people may have access to all the online reviews and they come to know of the movie beforehand. The author's assumption is unfounded and if this is proven true, will render the author's claim that there is nothing wrong with the quality of their movies, baseless.

Finally, the author is assuming that the increased percentage of giving positive reviews suggests more people are liking their movies. The author is not taking into the account the fact the number of people attending the movies has also reduced which suggests that only the people who actually like their movies are coming to watch them. The people who are not fond of their movies or those who are inclined to give more negative reviews are not even bothering to watch them.thus, the author needs to find answer to the question that whether their movie quality has decreased and only people who are fans of their movies are coming to watch them.

In a nutshell, the author needs to provide more justification for the assumptions in the argument. he needs to provide answer questions on three fronts: will implementing this proposal not overrun the benefits it brings, whether the quality of their movies have actually deteriorated and whether more positive percentage of reviews actually means they are producing better movies. if the author is not able to answer the above questions, it will render the author's argument unpersuasive at best and specious at worst.