The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

“According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.”

It might seem logical, at first glance, to agree with the recommendation that Super Screen Movie Production Company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year fro advertising. It presents a few pieces of evidence suggesting that the movies be advertised better. However, in doing so, several questions have been left unanswered that are crucial to evaluaitng the recommendation. The claim could end uo being fragile, or it could be somewhat valid. We need to accumulate more information before adopting the recommendation as allowing for a higher budget for advertising should be treated with caution.

Firstly, stated in the memo is the fact that fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. But it is assumed that the drop is significant enough to warrant launching an advertising campaign. The question that needs to be answered in this respect is what is the exact number of the people who attended their movies last year and what is the count for the current year. Is there a huge gap between the two that needs to be explained. If it is huge, the company can proceed to investigate the cause of this discrepancy. If not, a minute drop can be attributed to other factors such as a another production company producing better movies, or an ongoing controversy against Super Screen that could help explain the drop. Hence, the recommendation would be more convincing if the author provided information about the exact figures, and the drop in viewers.

Additionally, the advertising director cites that the precentage of positive movie reviewers has increased during the past year. But what was the percentage of positive reviews last year? How much has it increased? How many movie reviewers actually reviewed the movie? Does this percentage of positive reponses from the reviewers equate to those from the viewers? A number of such questions come to mind that give enough reason to doubt the conclusion. An 80% positive response is meaningless if only 3 reviewers were considered. And similarly a 50% increase can go from 40% to 80% for a 3 reviewer group. These statistics do not buttress the recommendation. A full fledged survey of the audience is a possible solution to better look at the response from the audience.

Finally, the author readily claims that better advertising is sure to burgeon audience views. Not only is it incorrect to assume an increase in the views with just better advertising, it also falls prey to following an unreliable line of reasoning. Is advertinsing the only problem the Super Screen Movie Production Company is facing? It could be anything else as the support provided for insufficient advertising is untenable. If word of the movies didn't reach the audience this year, how did the viewers know about them in the earlier years? Perhaps the audience did know about them, but were unhappy with some other aspect of the movies released in the past year. An extensive study of previous and current viewer and advertising patterns would help answer these questions.

The conclusion is ineluctable viewed in light of the pointed issues. The questions raised are paramount to assessing the recommendation of employing an advertising campaign. The company needs to figure out the cause of the drop of movie viewers during the past year to chalk out a more effective strategy to tackle the conundrum.