"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo written by the advertising director, the director recommends that Super Screen Movie Production Company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year in other to increase the number of viewers. To bolster this argument, the direction cites a recent report of their marketing department and the outcome of that report. Although, at the surface, the argument being put forward may seem cogent. A deeper dive reveals that those assumptions as it stands are unwarranted and the recommendation amounts to particularly poor advice.

Firstly, the methodology of the recent report employed by the marketing department may pose two serious problems. The report compared the number of people that attended the movies of Super Screen-produced with other years and failed to expatiate on the reason why the company recorded low attendance than previous years. It could have been that viewers now subscribed to online movie stores to watch movies produced including the ones by Super Screen. The author fails to substantiate with evidence that Super Screen-produced movies are not distributed by other means. Secondly, the report compiled reviews of specific Super Screen movies. This could have been some of the best movies that the company produced that were already doing well and not bad ones. In both case, this development significantly impacts the credibility of the report.

Furthermore, the manager fails to provide evidence on the quality of movies produced by the company. It may be that Super Screen has produced some movies with very good quality but it has also churn out a lot of very bad movies with poor reviews that the report failed to capture. The manager should substantiate clearly with evidences the overly quality of the movies the company has produced in recent time or the assumptions in this case is unwarranted.

Even if we assume that the quality of movie produced are quite good and that there are not creating the required awareness. This raises a question on whether advertisement before now are reaching the right audience. It is possible that recent movies produced are meant for the younger generation who can be captured via social media advertisement but the advertisement by the company still follows the conventional radio-television.

In addition, the advertising manager fails to expatiate on the allocation earmarked for advertisement in the previous years and how it was spent. Did the department used those allocated money for the purpose or it was diverted to other things. What is the expertise level of members of the advertisement team, are they majorly interns or seasoned advertises who understand trends. The manager should substantiate on these questions with evidence, failure of which may suggest that allocation of greater share of the budget may still not get to the right audience.

In sum, the manager should further scrutinize the recent report by the marketing department asking appropriate questions as discussed earlier. There should also be a review on the kind of audience that their movies is suppose to capture and review their advertising strategy. Furthermore, it should also access the quality of the advertisement team, failure to do this would amount to a particularly poor advice in increasing the budget which will not lead to the desired outcome.